Skip to content

The Incredible Book-Eating Boy

10 February, 2015

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a children’s book review. I’m keeping with the theme of picture books but I feel that to complete my planned fifty reviews I will start expanding more into the realms of picture books for slightly older children. So more “Children’s Picture Books” than “Young Children’s Picture Books”.

The Incredible Book-Eating Boy by Oliver Jeffers is one of my favourite kids’ books. Not the sort of thing you would read to your two-year-old (it’s too long for most toddlers) but I’d say from 4-8 years old. That said, I love it. The book is about a boy who loves books. He loves books so much that one day he thought he might taste one, only to discover that he could quickly learn all the information in the book by EATING it, rather than reading it. Which leads to… well, you’ll have to read the book to find out.

The illustrations are a mixture of collage, paint and hand drawings, by Oliver Jeffers himself. I love the illustrations as much as I love the story. Such a lovely rich book! I love it so much I now own it in both English and Spanish. Please go find a library to borrow this from, or a book shop to buy it from then find a child to sit down and read it with.

IMG_0569

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

