Skip to content

Running Review: Suunto Ambit 2R

29 January, 2015

I recently splurged and bought myself a good GPS watch for running. I spent a lot of time contemplating over different brands and models, and procrastinating about features, when I finally settled on the Suunto Ambit 2R.

I chose the Ambit 2R for several reasons. In no particular order they include- the colour (I can wear the watch with anything, not just when I’m running), the quality, the reputation (most people who run love their Garmin but those who have a Garmin and a Suunto love their Suunto more), the GPS accuracy, the ability to change the display settings (whether you want to see heart rate, pace, speed, cadence, distance etc) and have different “profiles” for different sports. I can use it in the pool to measure swimming distance (although if you are a keen swimmer you would be better off with the sports one which is more expensive but has better swimming features) which may come in handy as I am contemplating an enticer triathlon in 2016. It also has features such as a compass and navigation back to a saved point or your point of origin, which are handy when trail running and bushwalking. And probably a lot more that I’ve already forgotten.

However, I’ve fallen in love with it for another reason entirely. You see, when you wear the heart rate monitor (which you can buy with the watch, but you don’t have to) the watch calculates your recovery time, based on your weight and your heart rate during the activity. This has taken a huge stress away from me.

You see, I’m the sort of person who does two things (well a lot of things but two that are relevant here). I tend to jump all in and overdo things. I also tend to compare my progress and my fitness with that of others. Using the Sunnto Ambit 2R has meant that I can see my body needs 5/10/30 hours to recover from this activity, and that when I add up all the activities I do during the week, I realise that I am pretty much working my body as hard as I can, while allowing for adequate recovery time.

This has been a weight off my shoulders. I don’t need to pressure myself to do more or work harder. I don’t need to compare myself with someone who is progressing more quickly than I am because I know that my body is doing everything it is capable of right now, and so I can rest in that.

That peace of mind is worth every cent I paid for the watch.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Doug permalink
    28 May, 2015 5:18 pm

    Great blog. I was just wondering if the ambit 2r measures distance swam in a pool. Thanks!

    • 28 May, 2015 9:16 pm

      Yes it does. I just haven’t been brave enough to wear it in the water.

Leave a Reply

