Skip to content

Get a runner’s body

4 December, 2014

Someone, a health professional, told me I wasn’t built for running, so I shouldn’t run.  Apparently, because I don’t look like an Ethiopian marathon runner, I shouldn’t run. (Just for clarification, that’s not my words, that’s the words of my former health professional – it’s not me being racist).

That person is no longer my health professional.

You see, if I did what I was built for right now, I’d be sitting in front of the TV eating corn chips, or ice cream.  But I refuse to succumb to that.  I am not spending the rest of my life sitting on my well padded backside, doing nothing.

The way to get a runner’s body is to run.

My body is not ready for running 20kms, so I don’t.  My body isn’t ready for more than a run or two each week, so I generally run once a week (hoping to increase that to two next year).  I don’t push my body more than I should.  I respect my body, and I don’t run to punish it.  On the odd week I have niggling injury or something just doesn’t feel right, I walk.  I listen to my body and take it easy.

Maybe one day my body will be too worn down to run, so I’ll walk.  It wont be the end of the world.  But as long as I am capable of running, I will run.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 4 December, 2014 8:47 pm

    Keep going strong 🙂

  2. Bec Dixon permalink
    4 December, 2014 11:08 pm

    Good for you!! You are inspiring me lady!!

Leave a Reply

