Skip to content

Lifelong Learning – The Adolescent and Adult Neurodiversity Handbook

9 April, 2014

I’d like to start posting regularly about what I am reading and learning about, since this blog is all about learning.

20140409-160026.jpg

I recently borrowed The Adolescent and Adult Neuro-Diversity Handbook from the library. I confess I didn’t read the title properly when I borrowed it, but it was one of the few books in the library on autism.

I found it really interesting as we are currently considering a dyspraxia diagnosis for one of our children and there is very little information out there about dyspraxia. Dyspraxia is, basically, a deficiency in motor planning that is unrelated to intelligence.

I didn’t read the whole book – not all of it was relevant – but I read the introduction, followed by the chapters on Autism/Aspergers, ADHD, Anxiety and Dyspraxia. Technically I meet the diagnostic criteria for adult ADHD. One thing I am challenged by is the characteristic of impulsivity/poor impulse control that is a mark of adult ADHD as, in my mind, being able to control your impulses and exercise self control is a sign of maturity. Following your impulses is the stuff of childhood. How can you treat people as adults, when they act like a child (due to poor impulse control)? Food for thought.

I was also interested to discover anxiety disorders as part of a book on Neurodiversity. It certainly doesn’t enter my mind, in and of itself, as a Neurodiverse condition, although it often goes alongside conditions such as autism.

The book itself was easy enough to read although very few people would need to read it cover to cover, it’s more a “dive in where you need” book.

I’m sure this book will prove useful to many, and I may refer back to it at a later date, but we aren’t up to the adult/adolescent part yet – at least not in our household.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

