Skip to content

Fifty Young Children’s Picture Books We Love – The Very Hungry Caterpillar

8 April, 2014

I always have grand plans that don’t always make it to fruition. My latest grand plan is to post fifty children’s picture books that we love.

To qualify for this list they need to be suitable for children under the age of five (but they can be enjoyed a lot older than that) and stand up to multiple readings. Some of these books have been so loved we have replaced them. Some more than once.

I’m not making this an “essential” or “must-read” list. Everyone has their own loves and dislikes. I just want to share picture books that we enjoy.

I’m hoping to post about one book per week for a year-ish. Sometimes I’ll have lots to say. Sometimes not a lot. That is more likely an indication of my available time and energy levels than the quality of the book.

The first book I’d like to feature is The Very Hungry Caterpillar. We own it in both Spanish and English – the only book I can say that about at the moment. The Very Hungry Caterpillar is a book I remember from my childhood. It is useful for teaching numbers, days of the week, life cycles and nutrition.

Our copy of the book has been read over and over and over.

20140408-143027.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

