Skip to content

Fitness Goal – October

30 September, 2013

It’s been a while since I’ve publicly set a fitness goal, although I’ve set and achieved some privately of late (doing one full push-up on toes, leg pressing 100kg and doing a set of ten reps, and jogging for five mins on the treadmill at 8km/h). I’m currently working on a goal of six weeks in a row of three gym visits a week (I’ll be a week and a bit into that when October starts tomorrow).

But I wanted to set a goal for October. So, there are 31 days in October. I’m setting a goal of 3000 skips (with a rope) in October. That basically means 100 skips a day. I won’t actually need to skip everyday – I often do 2 sets of 100 in with my weights (as warm up and cool down) and I can do more sets on some days, or longer sets as needed. I’m hoping, however, that it will be one way to sneak more active moments into my week, even if it is just a minute or two skipping.

As for rewards… If I achieve both my six week goal and my skipping goal then I might get myself a new heart rate monitor that connects to my phone via Bluetooth. If I get one and not the other I might buy a new album on iTunes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 7 October, 2013 9:43 pm

    Way to go! That is brilliant! I’m thinking up an acronym for your skipping … since I am doing NaNoWriMo (National novel writing month, write 50,000 words in 30 days), maybe you are doing OctoSkiMo (pronounced oct-oski-mo). Excuse (or enjoy) my silliness, and keep up the great work! I need to be more active, maybe I will try skipping too. ūüôā

    • 8 October, 2013 3:48 pm

      And I got through the first week without touching my skipping rope (blush). Just made up for it with 500 skips. Lol. If I do that again tomorrow I’ll be ahead.

Leave a Reply

