Skip to content

Technology Hiatus

10 June, 2013

I’ve beginning to think that I need a break from technology. Well, actually, perhaps (more accurately) social media. Blogs, forums, Facebook… They are all just filling my head… “my mind is racing, filled with lists of to do and things I’ve done”. On a bad day I get “tossed by the waves and blown around by every wind of teaching”, although usually about home education or home ideas, rather than doctrines!

It’s not that I think that what we’re doing is bad. Sometimes I get distracted by “good” which draws me away from “best”. Sometimes I do come across a really great idea that would enrich our children’s learning… But that activity may not be best for our family right now. Sometimes I am looking for ideas, a solution to a problem that we’re having. It’s so easy to Google up an answer, in fact you google up seven million things you could read in answer to your question. What happened to asking a REAL person, with skin and hair and eyes to look into while you talk to them? Or, in the absence of a knowledgeable person in your life, a recommended book. The Internet is still useful, however having a quick look at how well reviewed a book is on Amazon or Koorong or add-your-favourite-book-website-here is a world away from googling for answers. When you’re reading (most) blogs you have no idea of who the writer is, what his/her kids (or business or home or…) really look like. You can’t see that person’s fruit. While that is still true of a book author, the author has had to go through the vetting process of publishers, book sellers and reviewers. You can also check out the author’s qualifications (if any), their credentials and sometimes read a sample of their books online.

Blogs and forums are still beneficial. Forums, especially, are designed for conversation. You can ask questions and have them answered, and come back with more questions. Blogs can give you recommendations of books or new ideas for systems for your home or home school or kitchen or… Whatever it is that you read blogs about. While the information on a blog is more up to date than the information in a book, it just doesn’t have that same authority.

Blogs and forums have their place and purpose. Right now, in my life, they have become more of a hindrance than a help. What a technology/social media hiatus is going to look like, for me, I don’t know. I’ll probably unsubscribe from a few lists and Facebook pages. I’ll try not to read the blogs I often read… How long will it be for? I don’t know. As long as it is useful, and hopefully not too much longer.

Have you ever taken a break from social media or technology? What did it look like? Did it help?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 13 July, 2013 1:00 pm

    Oh! You know I struggle with all this. I have a love/hate relationship with technology. I’ve often taken a sabbatical, deleted my accounts, etc. A gal has to do what a gal has to do to thrive, not just survive. Being online is good and often beneficial but we have to use it as a tool. A tool that we use to serve our needs and help us. We certainly shouldn’t be ruled by the tool.

    Can I ask you a small favour? You have generously linked to AHS in your sidebar but when we had the domain name change a few months back, the code for the linky changed. The new code is on our blog sidebar… but it is also here: http://aussiehomeschool.com.au/blog/

Leave a Reply

