Skip to content

New Year’s Resolutions

31 December, 2011

I’ve been reading a really interesting book lately, called Lit! (which I will blog about later), and it’s caused me to think about what I choose to read and why. So, for my new year’s resolution I decided that I would set myself three goals for each month. One will be health related, but the other two will be book related.

Each month I will set myself a health goal, but these I will determine as the year goes on, taking our circumstances into consideration. I may set myself a number of minutes goal, a weight loss goal, a try-something-new goal or a relaxation, stress-relieving goal. Each month it will be something different, something that I need to work on.

The first reading-related goal I will set myself is a Bible goal. Each month I will set myself a book of the Bible to read (or, occasionally two short, related books) to read. I hope to not just read them, but to give some time to studying them, perhaps read a commentary on them or a book relating to a central character or theme. Ultimately I want to read the Bible and learn more about what it says.

The second reading related goal, and final monthly goal will be to read a book each month. I have set my plan out in advance so that it aligns with what I determined to be my values in literature, while reading Lit! I also have a few books that I have made commitments to read, for other reasons, that I have also incorporated into my reading list for the year.

I know that my circumstances will change. Some months I may read three books and some I may not get any read. There may come a circumstance which requires me to add a different book to my priority list (such as one about a current situation or medical concern). That’s fine. The plan simply gives me a focus and a starting point. I know that if I finish my book of the month quickly, that I have other books that I have determined to be valuable to read, and can get on with it instead of reading rubbish or just not reading because I have no reason to read.

So, without further ado, here is the plan.

January:
Bible: Isaiah
Book: Raising A Sensory Smart Child
Health: Exercise for at least 30 mins, three times a week (eg walk, Zumba, toning) for a total of 500mins or more.

February
Bible: Mark
Book: One to One Bible Reading
Health: TBD but I think I might try a gym class that I’ve never done before.

March
Bible: Proverbs
Book: The Skin Map – I got this through the BookSneeze program some time ago, and haven’t read it yet.

April
Bible: Revelation
Book: The Optimistic Child or another parenting book.

May
Bible: Ecclesiastes and Song of Songs
Book: Something home making or hospitality related.

June
Bible: 1 (&2?) Corinthians
Book: I want to read something about Jesus, God or Theology but I’m not really sure yet. We probably have books here that I’ve never read, that Mark has, on the topic.

July
Bible: Deuteronomy
Book: I’d like to read a book on marriage, probably Love and Respect, but still undecided.

August
Bible: Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians
Book: I’m interested in studying librarianship later down the track, to become a teacher-librarian, so I’d like to track down a relevant book. Failing that, I’d like to read a book related to my studies of Spanish, either a textbook or a book written in Spanish.

September
Bible: Exodus
Book: A novel, hopefully by P D James, since I enjoyed Death Comes To Pemberley. I enjoy reading novels, but I don’t allow myself the pleasure very often as I tend to get caught up in them a little too much while I am reading.

October
Bible: 1,2,3 John
Book: I’d like to read a biography of some sort.

November
Bible: Judges
Book: In November I’d like to read a book about Home Education to prepare me for the following year, as we make plans for 2013 in The Parnell Home School.

December
Bible: Matthew
Book: I’m hoping I’ll get another novel for Christmas and spend time between Christmas and New Year reading it.

If I happen to have more reading time, I’d like to read a “classic” novel I haven’t already read, and more books about parenting and about the health problems we are currently facing in our family. I also wouldn’t mind reading the instrction manual to our new Digital SLR or a book about using a digital SLR/taking good photos. However, I am intentionally keeping my list small and my goals reachable as we are hoping that 2012 will be a year of slowing down and shifting to a lower gear.

So, that’s my list of New Year’s Resolutions.

What are your goals for the coming year?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Angie Tester permalink
    3 January, 2012 5:34 pm

    Hi Liz

    Just had a quick look at your plan and it looks great! Achievable and positive but not out of reach!

    I think planning for soul, mind and body is a great thing to do and I must include some things for myself like this in my school “plan” for this year! Its so important not to burn out and to be able to keep walking at whatever pace we can. I’m sure lots of people can relate to that, we can’t keep up with others, but can just do what is good and right and possible for us and if I am prayerful the Lord will bless!

    Hope all is well with all of you

    Angie

Trackbacks

  1. January’s Goal Summary and February’s Goals « We Learn 4 Fun

Leave a Reply

