Skip to content

Love Food Hate Waste

31 October, 2011

Our local council is involved in funding an organisation called Love Food Hate Waste. Their aim is to reduce food wastage through education.

Zoe, Reuben and Rhiannon (who almost missed out as I thought the workshop was geared towards older children) went to a Kids Kitchen Garden Cooking Workshop. They had a ball!

In the workshop they learnt about growing their own sprouts, planting seeds and growing their own food and how to cook. Reuben was quite excited that he’d gotten to mix the eggs for the omlette (he really does get to cook at home!). They took home a sprouting kit, complete with organic mung beans, three pots each with seedlings (herbs and lettuces) and lunch! They each got to choose a meat and salad sandwich, in a proper reusable container to take home. Best of all it was free!

After all this excitement, I was a bit disappointed that I’d missed out (as Mark supervised them at the workshop while I did the grocery shopping). I’ve since decided that I will take part in one of the adult workshops on menu planning and shopping. It’s just an hour workshop in November but I’m sure I can pick up some good ideas.

If you’re in the area and interested in learning more, Jay Huxley (of Masterchef, apparently) will be holding free outdoor sessions on 5th November at the Penrith Growers Markets (8:30 and 11:30am). I’ll let you know if I get into the adults workshop and what I learn.

I’m so pleased that our council is supporting this kind of education and is providing the workshops for free :-). I think it’s a great investment.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2 November, 2011 6:34 am

    Liz,
    I was really interested in learning more about this. I would have attended the Growers Market if at all possible, but will be away this particular weekend. If you attend and you get some great info or resources, I would love you to share them with me.
    Regards
    Michelle Beech

    • 2 November, 2011 6:42 am

      The workshop with the MasterChef guy is on again THIS Saturday at the Farmer’s Markets. There are also sons more workshops for adults coming up too. I’m going to go to one about meal planning in a few weeks.

      Re the handouts, I’ll see if I can get copies or at least source info. The ones we got from the children’s workshop were ones on seasonality and some on which fruits and vegetables are high in different vitamins and minerals.

      I’ll also reply to your email shortly.

      Liz

Leave a Reply

