Skip to content

20 books in 2011 update

12 May, 2011

I’ve just finished my 16th book for my 20 books in 2011 challenge, The Art of Punctuation. Call me a geek, but I actually enjoyed the book. I am hoping that I will be able to improve the quality of my writing by using what I have learned through reading the book.

That said, by the end of the book I had had enough. The summary/conclusion was pretty boring and seemed to rehash old ground; my impression was that it was included simply to add in a few more of the authors favourite passages from books, rather than add anything to the work.

I am also most of the way through a great book called Made to Crave by Lysa Terkhurst, about finding our fulfillment in God and not other things, particularly food. I hope to finish it by the end of next week – it is the sort of book that needs to be read slowly and digested, rather than gulped down as quickly as possible.

Next in line in the way of Christian books is John Stott’s final book The Radical Disciple. I also have a few library books out at the moment and one book on mathematics sitting on my bedside table. They should well and truly take me over the line for my 20 books in 2011 and hopefully by the end of June. If that’s the case, I will set myself a new goal for the remaining six months of the year, most likely not to do with books. That doesn’t mean I will stop reading books though.

I don’t think I’ll ever stop reading books.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

