Skip to content

The Healthy Parnell Family

18 March, 2011

I (Liz) need to lose weight. I stated at the start of the year that I wanted to lose ten kilos this year, and I am still committed to that goal. In reality, though, I need to lose 20 kilos. I would like for that to happen this year but, realistically I am aiming for ten and can then set a new goal once I am ten kilos lighter than at the start of the year.

I have signed up for the Get Healthy coaching service, offered by the NSW government. It is also available in some other states. For that, I am asked to set a twelve week goal, which will be losing 5kg. Combined with the 2-2.5 kg I have already lost, it will get me well on the way to ten kilos this year and possibly set me up to lose the twenty this year, too.

It is going to be hard work. It involves a lifestyle change – not just for me but for our whole family. It’s not a short term fad or diet, but sustainable change for the better. We have already changed our whole family’s routine to give me a little time in the morning to exercise. I am trying to also incorporate some family exercise into the day, each day. This will be fun stuff – going to the park, kicking a ball, throwing a frisbee – not things we don’t enjoy. Enjoyable exercise will be sustainable. Something we feel is a chore is not.

So sorry, Michelle Bridges. I will not be counting calories for the rest of my life. I will be living and loving and laughing, enjoying my life. With my family.

I hope to outline, over the coming weeks and months, some of the changes we are making to get and keep us healthier and the changes that I am making to lose weight.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

