Skip to content

The Sacred Meal

8 March, 2011

I was looking forward to reading The Sacred Meal. It is part of a series of books on ancient practices. I feel that, in our modern lives, we too readily toss out the old to make way for the new. I enjoy learning what these practices meant to the original people who practiced them and how they relate to our lives now.

Upon reading The Sacred Meal, I was sorely disappointed. The Bible is rarely referred to, and even then it is usually indirectly, such as referring generally to a parable or an act of healing. The Christ of the author also seems to not be the same Jesus I read of in the Bible. The Jesus presented in The Sacred Meal was focused on exposing the violence of the Roman Empire in a non-violent way. The Jesus of the book needed to learn to temper his power with vulnerability by spending time with the poor.

The book also reduces the story of Sodom and Gomorrah into a story of social justice. The Sodomites apparently did horrible things by outsourcing the manufacture of clothing to sweat shops. And if there were just ten righteous people, like the man who stops driving one day a week and uses energy saving light bulbs, then Sodom would have been saved. Imagine that, two cities destroyed for lack of energy saving lightbulbs!

I couldn’t finish the book. If that eliminates me from the BookSneeze program, then so be it. I couldn’t continue to read the moralising and blasphemy in the book. The book was repulsive to me.

It did however, supply my husband and I with a few laughs about how ridiculous it was.

I was provided with a complimentary e-book of The Sacred Meal through the BookSneeze program. In return I am required to give an honest review of the book.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 19 March, 2011 11:03 am

    Nora’s theology was horrible! I agree with your assessments regarding it being about social justice, rather than remembering Christ. I would have liked to read more of your thoughts if you’d finished it, though. Try the rest of it, you’ll be shocked by some of the things she says. Or, you can check out my review. Let me know what you think of the rest of her thoughts later in the book. Glad I’m not the only one giving it a bad rating.

Leave a Reply

