Skip to content

The Treasure of God’s Word: Celebrating 400 Years of the King James Bible

14 February, 2011

I received a complimentary copy of The Treasure of God’s Word through the BookSneeze Review program.  I am asked only to give an honest opinion of the book.

Ambivalence.  That probably best describes my first impressions of the book.  Perhaps through my own fault, I was expecting a book about the history and development of the King James Bible over the last 400 years.  I was, however, dreading it being a long, dry boring book.  I was wrong on both counts.

Instead, The Treasure of God’s Word, is a hardback book, with an imitation leather cover, gold-edged glossy pages and embossed front cover.  It’s a beautiful gift book, perfect for those Bible collectors and lovers of the King James Version (or Authorised Version) of the Bible.

It is a gift book, not a serious academic book.  The book is largely a topical collection of Scriptures from the KJV, interspersed with two to three pages of historical information about the development of the KJV.  Those who believe that the King James Version (or 1611 Authorised Version) is the inspired Word of God to the exclusion of all other English language versions would likely be disappointed by some of the commentary, and those who believe it to be an inferior, archaic version would be frustrated at some of the “allowances” made, with references to it being The Authoritative Word of God.

While it isn’t exactly the book I was expecting, it is a lovely gift book and I believe is priced well, as it feels like a much more expensive book than it is.

 

I’m not counting this in my 20 books for the year because I don’t feel like I’ve really read a book.

One Comment leave one →
  1. donkeytalk permalink
    14 February, 2011 10:43 pm

    Look out for as book called “God’s Secretaries” by Adam Nicholson. Possibly one of the best-written histories of the making of the KJV. It explores the personalities as well as the interactions of the key players, and does so in a scholarly manner… but it has warmth to it, too. If I remember, I’ll drag it out on Sunday for you.

Leave a Reply

