Skip to content

The Equation That Couldn’t Be Solved

12 August, 2010

I’m currently reading a fascinating, mind-stretching book called The Equation That Couldn’t Be Solved. Maybe it wouldn’t be so mind-stretching if I’d studied 4Unit maths in Year 12 like Mark, but I didn’t.  I did 3Unit and did badly enough at that, thank you!

That does nothing to hamper my enjoyment of this book, however.  The full title of the book is “The Equation That Couldn’t Be Solved.  How Mathematical Genius Discovered the Language of Symmetry“.  I’ve learn about the basic concepts of symmetry (and some more complex ones) since beginning this book, and have learnt a lot of the history of mathematics.

I’m also learning about myself.  Reinforcing my growing awareness that I underestimate myself.  Realising that I can get interested in just about ANYTHING really.  Realising that my brain isn’t completely dead, despite the world telling me it should be since I spent 90% of my waking ours in the company of young children.

Most importantly, however, I am learning about the fascinating world that God created.  The intricacies of design are amazing and quite mind-boggling really.  Even more mind-boggling than getting my head around imaginary numbers that can, indeed,  be real. 😛

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

