Skip to content

God Hates Loneliness

6 August, 2010

In a few short hours one of my closest friends will be flying off to the other side of the world.  She will be flying 16239 km to start a new life in Boston, Massachusetts, USA.  She is not going alone.  She is leaving with her husband and young son.  They are embarking on a great adventure together.

Alison has been my friend since she was born.  Our mothers met at teachers college.  I cannot remember a time in my life when Al wasn’t a part of it.  She’s just always been there.  Sure, we’ve had our ups and downs, as any friendship that has lasted over twenty years is bound to.  But she has always been there.

Al is an amazing person.  She is so friendly.  She is so bubbly and enthusiastic.  She is so refreshingly honest.  There are many, many people who will be missing Al, just as I will.

I’ve been humbled in the last few days by Al’s calmness and peace.  I’m sure that she is a swirling mess of emotion right now, but she has been so gracious even through some trying times of late.  Al found out recently that the bulk of their possessions, that were supposed to be shipped from Australia seven weeks ago, are still sitting at a port in Australia.  She told me about this the other day, without a hint of anger or malice.  This mishap means that they will be in Boston about three months without most of their clothes, books, cooking utensils, music and who knows what else!  Despite the enormity of this “inconvenience”, Al was peaceful.

Al and her husband Jono are also incredibly generous.  They have sold or given away a lot of their possessions so that they can start their new life in Boston.  They even gave us their piano, that I’m sure they could have sold.  Instead, it has been a great source of enjoyment for our family and friends.

Al has taught me so much.  She is so creative and looks at things differently to the way I do.  She has taught me to be the person that God made me and not just one of the crowd (though one could say that I am a slow learner).  Al has taught me that a leopard can change her spots – at least in the realm of housekeeping ;-).  She taught me how to play Chopsticks on the piano.  She taught me the value of friendship.  So many, many things I have learnt from her.  Of late, she is teaching me about holding onto your worldly goods loosely.

Al is a great friend. She is a great wife and a great mother.  She’s a wonderful godmother to Rhiannon.  I could write for hours about my wonderful friend Al.  And I haven’t even started on Jono or their dear son.  Jono is quirky and funny and as stubborn as a mule.  I say this with the greatest of affection for Jono knows that I am also quite stubborn.  Jono is not shy with encouragement and compliments and I really appreciate that about him.  I will miss him dearly, but (sorry Jono) not nearly as much as I will miss Al.

“God hates loneliness.  He’ll wipe it out. After judgement”.  Al and Jono started a few bands but Caxton has been playing for too many years for me to count!  Caxton have now broken up – it’s a little hard to do a gig when half the band are in a different time zone!  But pop by and tell them how great they are :-).  And maybe one day they’ll get to star in a Spanish beer commercial.

“And I saw a new heaven and a new earth: for the first heaven and the first earth were passed away; and there was no more sea.” Rev 21:1

One day we wont be separated by the sea.  I’ll (God willing) see Al again before heaven.  But there will come a day when there will be no more goodbyes.  No more separation.  No more loneliness.

Al, I wish you all the best.  I am so happy an excited for you, but there is also sadness.  There will always be an Al-shaped hole in my heart and my life, until you’re back here again.

Set down roots in Boston.  Don’t be afraid to commit.  Make friends.  Build relationships.  Give of yourselves.

“Build ye houses, and dwell [in them]; and plant gardens, and eat the fruit of them; Take ye wives, and beget sons and daughters; and take wives for your sons, and give your daughters to husbands, that they may bear sons and daughters; that ye may be increased there, and not diminished. And seek the peace of the city” Jeremiah 29:5-7

I wish you love my dear friends.  Bloom where you are planted.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

