Skip to content

Thankfulness

9 April, 2008

Sometimes, in our busy lives we forget to be thankful for all we have. So, for this Wednesday, I am writing about ten things I am thankful for.

1. I have Jesus as my Lord and Saviour.
My faith in God gives me riches beyond compare that I can never repay. His blessings are new every morning and He loves me more than I can ever imagine. He gives me life. What more could I ask for?

2. I have a loving husband.
Unfortunately, a loving devoted spouse is a rare commodity these days. So often, those that do have caring spouses take them for granted. My husband works diligently at work, studies part time and is in a leadership role at our church, yet he also helps out with the kids, helps with the housework and spends regular time with me. He is a blessing to me!

3. I have three beautiful children.
So many couples are infertile and sometimes I forget how desperately we wanted these children and how fiercely I love them. My eldest is four and a half. She is a great encourager and has a great memory. My second has just turned three. He is very affectionate and is articulate. My youngest is almost four months old. She has a beautiful smile and is a pretty good sleeper. They are such blessings to me, also.

4. I have an involved extended family.
Not many children have the experience of having not only grandparents, but great-grandparents regularly involved in their lives, but mine do. They also have aunts, uncles, great-aunts, great-uncles, second-cousins, godparents and family friends that form our “extended family”. Both my parents and my husband’s parents live locally (within 20mins drive) and love to spend time with us or help out. They enrich our lives and our children’s lives.

5. I have a roof over my head.
As trite as it may sound, I really am thankful for our little unit. It can be easy to wish we had more space, a bigger garage, a backyard… but really, we are so fortunate to live in a place that we are paying off, little by little. I also find that rearranging every now and then can make our home feel “new” while accommodating our changing needs. Our small space also means we can’t accumulate too much clutter.

6. I’m thankful for the skills, talents and abilities I have.
I find it easy to get upset about the abilities I don’t have and the skills I find hard to master. I get frustrated when I am not good at something. However, I have lots of skills I take for granted. I can cook well and am learning to make meals from what appears to be not much. I can budget well and I am learning to manage our home well. I can write well and have an extensive vocabulary. I am just me.

7. I am thankful for the money my husband works hard to earn.
He provides for us well. We have everything we need and many things that we want and he provides for us so well that I am able to stay home with my children. We pay all our bills, eat well and are clothed appropriately. We even have money for luxuries like our new Wii or a cup of tea at a nice cafe.

8. I’m thankful for books. I love to sit down with a good book. Books can teach you just about anything you want to know. Books are entertaining. Books can transport you to far off locations or even allow you to travel through time. Along with being thankful for books is being thankful for the ability to read. Life would be so difficult without that skill!

9. I’m thankful for music.
I love music. I love to listen to music, sing and dance. I can’t play music well although I do enjoy playing the little that I can. Music can calm me when I am worried or angry and motivate me when I am apathetic. It can also provide a distraction from life’s stresses and provide a trip down memory lane. I’m glad that I can hear because without hearing, I wouldn’t have music.

10. Finally, I’m thankful for where we live.
While we often wish we could live in the country, our present location is perfect for our life right now. We are just a few minutes walk away from a train station and bus stop. We are also within easy walking distance of a few small shops, a post office, play equipment and we are right across the road from sporting fields, where the kids can run and play at any time. We are fifteen minutes drive from a large shopping centre, ten minutes from a hospital. We have three libraries within fifteen minutes drive and another four (or more) within half an hour’s drive. We live close to an expansive network of extended family and friends. Where we live is perfect for us right now.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

